Banking Market Definitions

District of Columbia

When appropriate the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond uses Ranally Metro Areas (RMAs) when defining banking markets.  RMAs are metropolitan areas defined by Rand McNally and are located in its Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide.  Since the RMAs are continuously being revised and updated by Rand McNally, these areas should be verified using the Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide.


All Counties

Revised January 19, 2007

Banking Market Description
Washington, DC-MD-VA-WV Includes the RMA, the non-RMA portions of the counties of Calvert, Charles, Frederick, Prince George's and St. Mary's, MD, and Fauquier and Loudoun, VA; Jefferson County, WV; and the Virginia independent cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, and Manassas
Contact Us


Elizabeth Marshall
Bank Structure Research Associate
(804) 697-8035

Sabrina R. Pellerin
Bank Structure Manager
(804) 697-8230