Banking Market Definitions


When appropriate the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond uses Rand McNally Areas (RMAs) when defining banking markets. RMAs are metropolitan areas defined by Rand McNally and are located in its Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide. Since the RMAs are continuously being revised and updated by Rand McNally, these areas should be verified using the Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide.

When a county returns more than one banking market definition, this county has been split by an RMA and portions of the county are present in both banking market definitions.


Louisa County, Virginia

Revised January 10, 2008

Banking Market Description
Charlottesville Includes the RMA, the non-RMA portion of Albemarle County, the independent city of Charlottesville; the town of Louisa in Louisa County; plus the counties of Fluvanna, Greene, and Nelson
Fredericksburg Includes the independent city of Fredericksburg, the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania, and Stafford (excludes the Washington, DC-MD-VA RMA portion); the town of Lake Anna in Louisa County; and the towns of Colonial Beach, Leedstown, Oak Grove, and Potomac Beach in Westmoreland County
Richmond Includes the RMA, the non-RMA portions of the counties of Chesterfield, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, Powhatan, and Prince George; the independent cities of Colonial Heights, Hopewell, Petersburg, and Richmond; plus the counties of Amelia, Charles City, King and Queen, King William, New Kent; and the town of Mineral in Louisa County.
Contact Us


Elizabeth Marshall
Bank Structure Research Associate
(804) 697-8035

Sabrina R. Pellerin
Bank Structure Manager
(804) 697-8230