About Us



December 29, 2008

Fed Governors Appoint Richmond Chairman and Deputy Chairman

The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System appointed the following Chairman and Deputy Chairman of the Board of Directors for the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, effective Jan. 1, 2009:

  • Lemuel E. Lewis — President, LocalWeather.com Suffolk, Va. — was appointed chairman of the board of directors for 2009. Mr. Lewis has served as a Class C director since 2005.
  • Margaret E. McDermid — Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Dominion Resources Inc., Richmond, Va. — was appointed deputy chairman for 2009.  Ms. McDermid has served as a Class C director since 2007.

Each Federal Reserve Bank has a nine-member board of directors. Three Class A and three Class B directors are elected to three-year terms by the stockholding member banks, and three Class C directors are appointed to three-year terms by the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Class A directors represent the stockholding member banks in each Federal Reserve District. Class B and Class C directors represent the public and are chosen with due consideration to the interests of agriculture, commerce, industry, services, labor and consumers. Only Class C directors can become Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson.

The Richmond Fed serves the Fifth Federal Reserve District, which includes the District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and most of West Virginia. As part of the nation's central bank, we're one of 12 regional Reserve Banks that work together with the Federal Reserve's Board of Governors to strengthen the economy and our communities. We manage the nation's money supply to keep inflation low and help the economy grow. We also supervise and regulate financial institutions to help safeguard our nation's financial system and protect the integrity and efficiency of our payments system.


Contact Us


Jim Strader
(804) 697-8956
(804) 332-0207 (mobile)