August 28, 2014

Our Presidents

George Seay was the Richmond Fed's first leader, then called a "governor."

The Richmond Fed's seven leaders have come from a variety of fields—one accountant, one attorney, two bankers, and three economists, including our current president, Jeff Lacker.

For more on the evolution of Fed leaders’ backgrounds, see this Region Focus article. For bios of all past Fed leaders, visit


Bob McTeer talks about leading the Baltimore Branch and becoming president of the Dallas Fed.