When appropriate the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond uses Rand McNally Areas (RMAs) when defining banking markets. RMAs are metropolitan areas defined by Rand McNally and are located in its Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide. Since the RMAs are continuously being revised and updated by Rand McNally, these areas should be verified using the Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide.

When a county returns more than one banking market definition, this county has been split by an RMA and portions of the county are present in both banking market definitions.

Washington County, Maryland

Revised January 10, 2008

Banking MarketDescription
Washington, DC-MD-VA-WVIncludes the RMA, the non-RMA portions of the counties of Calvert, Charles, Frederick, and St. Mary's, MD, and Fauquier and Loudoun, VA; Jefferson County, WV; and the Virginia independent cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, and Manassas
Hagerstown-Chambersburg, MD-PA-WVIncludes the RMA and non-RMA portions of Washington County, MD and Franklin County, PA; Fulton County, PA; and the RMA portion of Berkeley County, WV.
Contact Us


Elizabeth Marshall
Bank Structure Research Associate
(804) 697-8035

Sabrina R. Pellerin
Bank Structure Manager
(804) 697-8230