When appropriate the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond uses Rand McNally Areas (RMAs) when defining banking markets. RMAs are metropolitan areas defined by Rand McNally and are located in its Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide. Since the RMAs are continuously being revised and updated by Rand McNally, these areas should be verified using the Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide.

When a county returns more than one banking market definition, this county has been split by an RMA and portions of the county are present in both banking market definitions.

Nelson County, Virginia

Revised January 10, 2008

Banking MarketDescription
CharlottesvilleIncludes the RMA, the non-RMA portion of Albemarle County, the independent city of Charlottesville; the town of Louisa in Louisa County; plus the counties of Fluvanna, Greene, and Nelson
Contact Us


Liz Marshall
Bank Structure Research Associate
(804) 697-8035

Sabrina R. Pellerin
Bank Structure Manager
(804) 697-8230