Skip to Main Content

Board of Directors

As part of the Federal Reserve Act, each of the 12 Reserve Banks has a nine-member board of directors. Our directors oversee Reserve Bank operations, serve on Board committees, and provide diverse perspectives on local economic conditions to help inform Federal Open Market Committee deliberations. Our branch offices in Baltimore and Charlotte also have seven-member boards of directors who contribute additional economic insights and connections to the communities we serve.

The Federal Reserve Act requires that member banks elect three directors to represent banks and three directors to represent the public. The Federal Reserve Board of Governors appoints an additional three directors, also to represent the public. Branch directors are appointed by the head-office board and by the Board of Governors.

Board of Governors policy prohibits directors from receiving any confidential supervisory information or participating in any bank supervisory matters. Additionally, directors representing member banks do not participate in selecting Reserve Bank presidents and first vice presidents, or in selecting Reserve Bank officers whose primary duties involve supervisory matters.

More information, including the boards’ structure and composition; directors’ roles and responsibilities; and polices governing their service is available on the Board of Governors’ website.



Jodie McLean
Chair of the Board
Chief Executive Officer
Washington, D.C.
Lisa Hamilton
Deputy Chair of the Board
President and Chief Executive Officer
The Annie E. Casey Foundation
Baltimore, Maryland
Robert M. Blue
President and Chief Executive Officer
Dominion Energy
Richmond, Virginia
Halsey Cook
President and Chief Executive Officer
Milliken & Company
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Photo of Alice Frazier
President and Chief Executive Officer
Potomac Bancshares, Inc.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Barbara Humpton
President and Chief Executive Officer
Siemens Corporation
Washington, D.C.
Jenn LaClair
Chief Revenue Officer
Fiserv, Inc.
Charlotte, North Carolina
James Sills
President and Chief Executive Officer
Mechanics and Farmers Bank
Durham, North Carolina


Board of Director William J. McCarthy
Chair of the Board
Executive Director
Catholic Charities of Baltimore
Baltimore, Maryland
Brenda Galgano
Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Perdue Farms Inc.
Salisbury, Maryland
Tom Geddes
Partner and Portfolio Manager
Brown Advisory
Baltimore, Maryland
Leslie D. Hale
President and CEO
RLJ Lodging Trust
Bethesda, Maryland
Cecilia A. Hodges
Regional President
M&T Bank
Greater Washington, D.C. and Virginia
Anthony Jenkins
Coppin State University
Baltimore, Maryland
Baltimore Board of Director Meeting Brian McLaughlin
Former President
Enterprise Community Development
Columbia, Maryland


Bernie Mazyck
Chair of the Board
President and Chief Executive Officer
South Carolina Association for Community Economic Development
Charleston, South Carolina
Charlotte Board of Director Samuel Erwin
Executive Vice President and Regional President – Carolinas
First Horizon Bank
Greenville, South Carolina
James Goodmon
President and Chief Operating Officer
Capitol Broadcasting Company
Raleigh, North Carolina
Lori Hudson
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
National Gypsum Company
Charlotte, North Carolina
Geordy Johnson
President & Director, Johnson Management
CEO, Johnson Development Associates
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Barbara Melvin
President and Chief Executive Officer
South Carolina Ports
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Dionne Nelson
President & CEO
Laurel Street
Charlotte, North Carolina