Skip to Main Content


Banking markets for the Fifth District are defined by the Research Department of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. Not all areas in the District are defined and definitions are subject to change as applications are processed. For questions about these definitions, please contact a member of the Bank Applications/Casework section of the Research Department.

All municipalities are in Maryland unless otherwise noted. A county may be split into more than one banking market if evidence suggests that the county is economically dependent on two or more counties or metropolitan areas.

Updated October 12, 2016

Banking MarketDefinition
Annapolis, MDIncludes the counties of Anne Arundel (excluding the District 7 county subdivision) and Queen Anne's
Baltimore, MDIncludes the city of Baltimore and the counties of Baltimore, Carroll, Harford, and Howard (excluding the Clarksville and Savage county subdivisions)
Caroline, MDCaroline County
Cumberland, MD-WVIncludes Allegany County, Maryland, and Mineral County, West Virginia
Dorchester, MDDorchester County
Eastern Shore, VA-MDIncludes the Virginia counties of Accomack and Northampton, and the area south of Routes 365 and 113 (including the towns of Pocomoke City and Snow Hill) in Worcester County, Maryland
Easton, MDTalbot County
Garrett, MDGarrett County
Hagerstown-Chambersburg, MD-PAIncludes Washington County, Maryland, and the Pennsylvania counties of Franklin and Fulton
Kent, MDKent County
Salisbury, MDWicomico County
Somerset, MDSomerset County
St. Mary's, MDSt. Mary's County
Washington, DC-MD-VA-WVIncludes Washington, DC; the Maryland counties of Charles, Calvert, Frederick, Montgomery, and Prince George's; the District 7 county subdivision in Anne Arundel County, Maryland; the Clarksville and Savage county subdivisions in Howard County, Maryland; the Virginia counties of Arlington, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, Rappahannock, Stafford, and Warren; the Virginia cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park; and Jefferson County, West Virginia
Worcester, MDWorcester County (excluding Eastern Shore, VA-MD portion)

Additional Resources

phone Contact Us

Liz Marshall (804) 697-8035