Skip to Main Content

North Carolina

Banking markets for the Fifth District are defined by the Research Department of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. Not all areas in the District are defined and definitions are subject to change as applications are processed. For questions about these definitions, please contact a member of the Bank Applications/Casework section of the Research Department.

All municipalities are in North Carolina unless otherwise noted. A county may be split into more than one banking market if evidence suggests that the county is economically dependent on two or more counties or metropolitan areas.

Updated October 12, 2016

Banking MarketDefinition
Alleghany, NCAlleghany County
Ashe, NCAshe County
Asheville, NCIncludes the counties of Buncombe, Henderson, Haywood, and Madison
Avery, NCAvery County
Bertie, NCBertie County
Bladen, NCBladen County
Burlington, NCIncludes the counties of Alamance and Caswell (excluding the Dan River, Milton, Pelham, and Yanceyville townships)
Carteret, NCIncludes Carteret County (excluding the White Oak township)
Charlotte, NC-SCIncludes the North Carolina counties of Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, and Union; the South Carolina counties of Lancaster and York; the city of Mooresville and the Davidson and Coddle Creek townships in Iredell County, North Carolina; the Atwell and China Grove townships in Rowan County, North Carolina; and the King's Mountain township in Cleveland County, North Carolina
Cherokee, NCIncludes the counties of Cherokee, Clay and Graham
Chowan, NCChowan County
Columbus, NCColumbus County
Danville, VA-NCIncludes the independent city of Danville, Virginia; Pittsylvania County, Virginia; and the Dan River, Milton, Pelham, and Yanceyville townships in Caswell County, North Carolina
Dare, NCIncludes the counties of Dare, Hyde, and Tyrrell
Duplin, NCDuplin County (excluding the Faison, Wolfscrape, Glisson, and Albertson townships)
Durham-Chapel Hill, NCIncludes the counties of Chatham, Durham, Orange, and Person
Elizabeth City, NCIncludes the counties of Camden, Pasquotank, and Perquimans
Fayetteville, NCIncludes the counties of Cumberland and Hoke, and the Anderson Creek, Barbeque, Johnsonville and Stewarts Creek townships in Harnett County
Goldsboro, NCIncludes Wayne County and the Faison, Wolfscrape, Glisson, and Albertson townships in Duplin County
Greensboro-High Point, NCIncludes the counties of Davidson, Guilford, Randolph, and Rockingham
Greenville, NCIncludes the counties of Pitt, Beaufort, and Greene (excluding the Shine, Jason, and Hookerton townships in Greene County)
Henderson, NCIncludes the counties of Vance and Warren
Hertford, NCHertford County
Hickory, NCIncludes the counties of Alexander, Burke, Caldwell, and Catawba
Jackson, NCIncludes the counties of Jackson and Swain
Jacksonville, NCIncludes Onslow County and the White Oak township in Carteret County
Kinston, NCIncludes Lenoir County; the Hookerton, Jason, and Shine townships in Greene County; and the Beaver Creek township in Jones County
Macon, NCMacon County
Martin, NCMartin County
McDowell, NCMcDowell County
Mitchell, NCIncludes the counties of Mitchell and Yancey
Montgomery, NCMontgomery County
Moore, NCMoore County
Mount Airy, NC-VAIncludes Surry County, North Carolina; the Dan River county subdivision in Patrick County, Virginia; and the portion of Carroll County, Virginia south of the Blue Ridge Parkway
Myrtle Beach-Conway, SC-NCIncludes the South Carolina counties of Horry and Georgetown and the Shallotte township in Brunswick County, North Carolina
New Bern, NCIncludes the counties of Craven, Jones (excluding the Beaver Creek township), and Pamlico
Norfolk-Virginia Beach, VA-NCIncludes the Virginia cities of Chesapeake, Norfolk, Portsmouth, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach; the North Carolina counties of Currituck and Gates; and the Carrsville county subdivision in Isle of Wight County, Virginia
Raleigh, NCIncludes the counties of Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Wake, and Harnett (excluding the Anderson Creek, Barbeque, Johnsonville, and Stewarts Creek townships in Harnett County)
Richmond, NCRichmond County
Roanoke Rapids, NCIncludes the counties of Halifax and Northampton
Robeson, NCRobeson County
Rocky Mount, NCIncludes the counties of Edgecombe and Nash
Rutherford, NCRutherford County
Salisbury, NCIncludes Rowan County (excluding the Atwell and China Grove townships)
Sampson, NCSampson County
Sanford, NCLee County
Scotland, NCScotland County
Shelby, NCIncludes Cleveland County (excluding the King's Mountain township)
Spartanburg, SC-NCIncludes the South Carolina counties of Cherokee, Spartanburg, and Union; and Polk County, North Carolina
Stanly, NCStanly County
Statesville, NCIncludes Iredell County (excluding the city of Mooresville and the Davidson and Coddle Creek townships)
Transylvania, NCTransylvania County
Washington, NCWashington County
Watauga, NCWatauga County
Wilkes, NCWilkes County
Wilmington, NCIncludes the counties of Brunswick (excluding the Shallotte township), New Hanover, and Pender
Wilson, NCWilson County
Winston-Salem, NCIncludes the counties of Davie, Forsyth, Stokes, and Yadkin

Additional Resources

phone Contact Us

Liz Marshall (804) 697-8035