Skip to Main Content

South Carolina

Banking markets for the Fifth District are defined by the Research Department of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. Not all areas in the District are defined and definitions are subject to change as applications are processed. For questions about these definitions, please contact a member of the Bank Applications/Casework section of the Research Department.

All municipalities are in South Carolina unless otherwise noted. A county may be split into more than one banking market if evidence suggests that the county is economically dependent on two or more counties or metropolitan areas.

Updated October 12, 2016

Banking MarketDefinition
Augusta Area, GA-SCIncludes the Georgia counties of Columbia, McDuffie, and Richmond; and the South Carolina counties of Aiken and Edgefield
Bamberg, SCBamberg County
Barnwell, SCIncludes the counties of Allendale and Barnwell
Charleston, SCIncludes the counties of Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester; and the southeastern portion of Colleton County located east of the South Edisto River on Edisto Island
Charlotte, NC-SCIncludes the North Carolina counties of Anson, Cabarrus, Gaston, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, and Union; the South Carolina counties of Lancaster and York; the city of Mooresville and the Davidson and Coddle Creek townships in Iredell County, North Carolina; the Atwell and China Grove townships in Rowan County, North Carolina; and the King's Mountain township in Cleveland County, North Carolina
Chester, SCChester County
Chesterfield, SCChesterfield County
Colleton, SCIncludes Colleton County (excluding the southeastern portion located east of the South Edisto River on Edisto Island)
Columbia, SCIncludes the counties of Calhoun, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lexington, and Richland
Dillon, SCDillon County
Florence, SCIncludes the counties of Darlington and Florence
Greenville, SCIncludes the counties of Anderson, Greenville, Laurens, and Pickens
Greenwood, SCIncludes the counties of Abbeville and Greenwood
Hilton Head Island, SCIncludes the counties of Beaufort, Hampton, and Jasper
Lee, SCLee County
Marion, SCMarion County
Marlboro, SCMarlboro County
McCormick, SCMcCormick County
Myrtle Beach-Conway, SC-NCIncludes the South Carolina counties of Horry and Georgetown and the Shallotte township in Brunswick County, North Carolina
Newberry, SCNewberry County
Oconee, SCOconee County
Orangeburg, SCOrangeburg County
Saluda, SCSaluda County
Spartanburg, SC-NCIncludes the South Carolina counties of Cherokee, Spartanburg, and Union; and Polk County, North Carolina
Sumter, SCIncludes the counties of Clarendon and Sumter
Williamsburg, SCWilliamsburg County

Additional Resources

phone Contact Us

Liz Marshall (804) 697-8035