Skip to Main Content

West Virginia

Banking markets for the Fifth District are defined by the Research Department of the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. Not all areas in the District are defined and definitions are subject to change as applications are processed. For questions about these definitions, please contact a member of the Bank Applications/Casework section of the Research Department.

All municipalities are in West Virginia unless otherwise noted. A county may be split into more than one banking market if evidence suggests that the county is economically dependent on two or more counties or metropolitan areas.

Updated October 12, 2016

Banking MarketDefinition
Beckley, WVIncludes the counties of Raleigh, Summers, Wyoming, and Fayette (excluding the towns of Montgomery and Smithers)
Bluefield, WV-VAIncludes Mercer County, West Virginia, and the area north of and including the town of Bluefield in Tazewell County, Virginia
Braxton, WVBraxton County
Charleston, WVIncludes the counties of Kanawha, Boone, Clay, Jackson, and Putnam; the portion of Roane County south of Ripley Road (Route 33), excluding the town of Spencer; the portion of Lincoln County east of the Mud River (excluding the town of Harts); and the towns of Montgomery and Smithers in Fayette County
Clarksburg, WVIncludes the counties of Barbour (excluding the South county subdivision), Doddridge, Harrison, and Taylor
Cumberland, MD-WVIncludes Allegany County, Maryland, and Mineral County, West Virginia
Gilmer, WVGilmer County
Grant, WVGrant County
Greenbrier, WVIncludes the counties of Greenbrier and Monroe
Hardy, WVHardy County
Harrisonburg ,VA-WVIncludes the independent city of Harrisonburg, Virginia; the Virginia counties of Rockingham and Page; and Pendleton County, West Virginia.
Huntington, WV-KY-OHIncludes Lawrence County, Ohio; the Kentucky counties of Boyd and Greenup (excluding the Fullerton census county division, including South Shore city); the West Virginia counties of Cabell and Wayne; and the portion of Lincoln County, West Virginia west of the Mud River (excluding the town of Harts)
Lewis, WVLewis County
Martinsburg, WVIncludes Berkeley County, and the District 2 and District 3 county subdivisions of Morgan County
McDowell, WVMcDowell County
Mingo and Logan, WVIncludes the counties of Logan and Mingo, and the town of Harts in Lincoln County
Morgantown, WV-PAIncludes the West Virginia counties of Marion, Monongalia and Preston; and the Springhill township and Point Marion borough in Fayette County, Pennsylvania
Nicholas, WVNicholas County
Parkersburg, WV-OHIncludes the West Virginia counties of Wood, Pleasants, Ritchie, and Wirt; and Washington County, Ohio
Pocahontas, WVPocahontas County
Point Pleasant-Gallipolis, WV-OHIncludes Mason County, West Virginia, and Gallia County, Ohio
Randolph, WVIncludes Randolph County and the South county subdivision of Barbour County
Spencer, WVIncludes Calhoun County; the portion of Roane County north of Ripley Road (Route 33); and the town of Spencer in Roane County
Tucker, WVTucker County
Upshur, WVUpshur County
Washington, DC-MD-VA-WVIncludes Washington, DC; the Maryland counties of Charles, Calvert, Frederick, Montgomery, and Prince George’s; the District 7 county subdivision in Anne Arundel County, Maryland; the Clarksville and Savage county subdivisions in Howard County, Maryland; the Virginia counties of Arlington, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Loudoun, Prince William, Rappahannock, Stafford, and Warren; the Virginia cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park; and Jefferson County, West Virginia
Webster, WVWebster County
Winchester, VA-WVIncludes the independent city of Winchester, Virginia; the Virginia counties of Clarke, Frederick and Shenandoah; Hampshire County, West Virginia; and the District 1 county subdivision in Morgan County, West Virginia

Additional Resources

phone Contact Us

Liz Marshall (804) 697-8035